In the cosmos of pumpkin recipes, it arguably doesn’t get more basic than a chocolate chip pumpkin muffin. Or more delicious. I’m also willing to argue that these Vegan Pumpkin Muffins should be one of the first treats you bake this fall. Even if you think you are set with your go-to pumpkin recipes. Even if you aren’t actually vegan. Even if you, like my crazy husband, don’t think chocolate chips and pumpkin belong together (WHAT?). Even if you leave the chocolate chips out, these Vegan Pumpkin Muffins still taste heavenly. That is how good they are.

How to Make the Best Vegan Pumpkin Muffins

As basic as a pumpkin muffin can be, they are also tricky to get right. If you’ve been reading my blog for awhile, you know that I consider muffins Very Serious Business. Remember when I celebrated my 5-year blogiversary with Chocolate Zucchini Muffins instead of cake? THAT is how much I love a good muffin. And I’m a little, er, particular. (It took me multiple tries to get these Healthy Pumpkin Muffins exactly right, and it was SO worth it.) A good muffin must be:

Sweet but not too sweet.Full of healthy ingredients without actually tasting like health food.Fluffy. They must be fluffy. (Example: Almond Flour Pumpkin Muffins and Raspberry Muffins.)Fast. The batter needs to take no more than 15 minutes to prep. I’m not sure about you, but typically when I want a muffin, I wanted it five minutes ago.

The requirements are out, and the results are in: these Vegan Pumpkin Muffins are very, very good. They meet my every muffin requirement and may have even usurped my favorite Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread for my go-to pumpkin breakfast recipe! If you’ve been looking for a healthy pumpkin muffin recipe that still tastes great, these Vegan Pumpkin Muffins are it. The recipe is 100% whole grain, contains no sugar (the refined kind—thank you maple syrup!), and for those with dietary restrictions, this is a recipe for pumpkin muffins without eggs or dairy. In place of the egg, I used a flax egg, which is a trendy way of saying that I stirred together ground flaxseed and water, let the mix hang out for five minutes to thicken, then added it to the batter. Like in my Vegan Zucchini Bread recipe, this “flax egg” acts like a regular egg to bind the muffins and help them rise. The flaxseed swap won’t work in every recipe (the pumpkin muffins only need 2 eggs, so it’s a small portion of the batter), but it was ultra successful in these now egg-free pumpkin muffins. Bonus: flax is filled with nutrients, so it gives the Vegan Pumpkin Muffins an extra healthy boost. If you don’t need the muffins to be vegan, you can certainly use a regular egg instead. If you are in the market for easy breakfast recipes you can prep in advance for busy school mornings, work mornings, or, let’s be honest, life mornings (or in the unlikely event of leftovers), these Vegan Pumpkin Muffins are freezer friendly.

How to Store and Freeze These Muffins

To Store. Store muffins according to this guide for How to Store Muffins.To Freeze. I like to wrap mine individually and store them in the freezer for up to 3 months, then any time I need a quick boost, reheat one gently in the microwave. Overnight thawing is ideal, but when a lady needs her pumpkin muffin, a lady needs her pumpkin muffin. My fellow muffin lovers, I know you understand.

More Pumpkin Treats

Almond Flour Pumpkin MuffinsVegan Pumpkin BreadPumpkin Banana BreadHealthy Pumpkin BreadPaleo Pumpkin BreadHealthy Pumpkin Chocolate Chip BreadPumpkin Pull Apart BreadCheck out my full list of healthy pumpkin recipes.

Vegan Pumpkin Muffins  Easy and Healthy    WellPlated com - 47Vegan Pumpkin Muffins  Easy and Healthy    WellPlated com - 95Vegan Pumpkin Muffins  Easy and Healthy    WellPlated com - 60Vegan Pumpkin Muffins  Easy and Healthy    WellPlated com - 22Vegan Pumpkin Muffins  Easy and Healthy    WellPlated com - 81Vegan Pumpkin Muffins  Easy and Healthy    WellPlated com - 78