If you’ve ever fallen asleep crafting the perfect speech to finally give your boss a piece of your mind, only to wake up the next morning to realize that a) it wasn’t as clever as you thought, and b) it would likely get you fired anyway, you know the sensation. At 11:45 p.m., this easy pumpkin pasta sauce was the culinary representation of coming of age and finding one’s place in the world. Fast forward 6.5 hours. It’s 6:15 a.m., and I’m on my back porch writing this post. Maybe I need another cup of coffee, but growing up still feels like an acceptable metaphor for pumpkin pasta sauce. Is it as staggeringly brilliant as it seemed to my half-asleep brain last night? No. Could it be a reasonably accurate way to explain to you why you should make this pumpkin pasta sauce recipe? Let’s find out.

When I was younger, fettuccini Alfredo was my pasta dish of choice. Whether I ordered it from a menu or poured the Alfredo from a jar at home, I could not get enough of its richness, its carby noodle-ness, and its unapologetic levels of heavy cream, cheese, and butter. Then, in college and shortly thereafter, Alfredo sauce lost its luster. I dabbled in marinara, learned to make fresh pesto, and by the time I’d swiped my fork through a big plate of penne a la vodka, there was no going back. My old pasta sauce standby seemed excessive and gloppy. It no longer stood up to the bolder flavors and more nuanced textures of its pasta cousins. Then, a few weeks ago while flipping through an old cookbook, I stumbled across a recipe for fettuccini Alfredo. It filled me with the sort of nostalgia and appreciation that another (arguably more sane) individual might reserve for his childhood teddy bear. It was time for Alfredo to find its place on my plate again.

About This Creamy Pumpkin Pasta Sauce

Pumpkin pasta sauce might seem like an odd interpretation of fettuccini Alfredo, but the two are more similar than you think. Like the Alfredo I once loved, pumpkin pasta sauce is delightfully creamy, comforting, and a joy to twirl around your fork. Unlike fettuccini Alfredo, however, this healthy pumpkin pasta sauce is diet-friendly and won’t leave you in a complete stupor afterwards (even though it’s near impossible to stop eating Pumpkin Mac and Cheese). It’s a quality that did not factor into my teenage dietary decision making (of which there was precious little), but as an adult who seeks a balanced lifestyle, it’s one that I prize. Pumpkin is the key ingredient that gives the pasta sauce Alfredo’s signature, rich texture without the excess calories, and it’s loaded with vitamins and nutrients too. The sauce’s pumpkin flavor is subtle, so if you have any picky eaters who loathe to eat their vegetables, this healthy pumpkin pasta sauce is an excellent way to sneak an extra serving onto the plate (I also snuck it into this Pumpkin Chili). If you desire a stronger “pumpkin” taste, feel free to up the spices, as they are what makes the pumpkin flavor in the sauce most pronounced. (If you love pumpkin flavor, check out my list of healthy pumpkin recipes.) I DO insist that you keep the fresh sage. Its savory, earthy flavor adds depth to the pumpkin pasta sauce and brings it to life. Think of the sage as the final somethin’ somethin’ that makes this pumpkin pasta sauce taste all grown up.

How to Store and Reheat

To Store. Place leftovers in an airtight storage container in the refrigerator for up to 4 days. To Reheat. Reheat leftovers gently in the microwave with a splash of milk to keep them from drying out.

More Delicious Pasta Recipes

Chicken Broccoli Ziti Butternut Squash Pasta with Sausage and Kale Sweet Potato Pasta with Brussels Sprouts Cauliflower Pasta Spinach Artichoke Mac and Cheese Creamy Sun Dried Tomato Pasta Kale Pasta with Walnuts and Parmesan

Pumpkin Pasta Sauce  Ready in 20 Minutes     WellPlated com - 9Pumpkin Pasta Sauce  Ready in 20 Minutes     WellPlated com - 66Pumpkin Pasta Sauce  Ready in 20 Minutes     WellPlated com - 11Pumpkin Pasta Sauce  Ready in 20 Minutes     WellPlated com - 18Pumpkin Pasta Sauce  Ready in 20 Minutes     WellPlated com - 52Pumpkin Pasta Sauce  Ready in 20 Minutes     WellPlated com - 24