Congratulations. You just scrolled through 1.6 metres / 5.2 feet of melt-in-your-mouth crispy, light meringue, topped with whipped cream and piles of seasonal fruit, and didn’t break your screen reaching in to grab some! Want to know how it’s made? Simple. Here’s the secret of the Never Ending Meringue:

4 tart shells – 2 ends and 2 middle pieces – baked on 2 trays. Then just glue them together with a dab of cream. Yep, it’s as easy as that. 🙂

I promised this is easy, and in all honesty, I truly believe this to be easier to make than the Great Aussie Pav. The reason being that the Pav has height, and therefore is more delicate and has risk of collapsing during or after baking it. Also because of the marshmallow inside which sweats in hot summer weather, making the delicate dry meringue shell more fragile. If you are determined to make a Pav in the height of summer, please please please follow my Pav recipe exactly as written. There’s nothing tricky about it, but there are very specific steps and reasons why I do things the way I do and to make a Pav in hot humid weather that comes out near perfectly crackless and is strong enough to sustain mounds of toppings. But if you’re after a show stopper dessert that feeds loads of people that is easier to make and can be made 3+ days in advance, try this NEVER ENDING MERINGUE TART!!!

10 11 REASONS WHY YOU SHOULD MAKE THE NEVER ENDING MERINGUE TART

This is not my invention. The idea for this recipe came from the great Mary Berry, her Meringue Tranche which she made in one of her cooking shows. I just love Mary Berry. One of Britain’s most beloved cooking icons, she’s what Maggie Beer is to Aussies and Ina Garten to Americans. I’ve adapted it to my own, making mine longer and skinnier and also reducing the cook time to keep my meringue a lovely pure white. Make the Never Ending Meringue Tart as long as you want by making multiple batches of the middle sections. The only restriction you have is finding a surface area long enough to assemble it!!! I made this for a Christmas Party I catered for my mother last weekend. Here it is with 5 pieces, 2 metres / 6.5 feet long. I had a couple of extra pieces that wouldn’t fit on the table which I just assembled separately.

One of the things I really love about the Never Ending Meringue Tart is that it’s not too rich. Yes, meringue is sweet, but it’s light as air. Each serving you see below has about 4 tbsp of whipped cream (~1.5 tbsp of un-whipped), plus the fruit. It looks like a generous serving but it doesn’t feel heavy, meaning you (eer, I mean, your family and friends) can still indulge in dessert even after a big meal and not feel too weighed down from a super rich dessert. But let’s be honest here. I can talk to you about all the practical pros of this Never Ending Meringue Tart. But really, it’s all about you. And how you’ll be the talk of the town for years to come, about your famous Never Ending Tart. Shhhhh! Don’t tell anyone how easy it actually is to make!!! – Nagi xx PS Don’t stress about cracks, piped blobs being deformed and sticking in all directions (like mine!), and how messy your meringue looks. Once the topping’s on, no one notices a anything except how amazing the whole thing looks! PPS Update: The Christmas Trifle that was scheduled for today has now been published – here it is! The Christmas Trifle I promised for today is still coming! I promise, I just ran out of time to do both today and there was so much demand for this one. If anyone really urgently needs the Trifle before Monday evening, here’s the recipe. Full post with steps and recipe video is coming on Monday!

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

LIFE OF DOZER

Meringue test!! I take back all those times I said he contributes nothing in the kitchen. I trust my meringue beating skills but still wasn’t going to risk it – just had my hair done! 🤣

SaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSave SaveSave SaveSaveSaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave

Never Ending Meringue Tart - 90Never Ending Meringue Tart - 57Never Ending Meringue Tart - 78Never Ending Meringue Tart - 98Never Ending Meringue Tart - 81Never Ending Meringue Tart - 78Never Ending Meringue Tart - 12Never Ending Meringue Tart - 93Never Ending Meringue Tart - 94Never Ending Meringue Tart - 7Never Ending Meringue Tart - 43Never Ending Meringue Tart - 43