I’ve been cooking with my Instant Pot for over a year now (this is the model I have), and while I originally embraced it a little reluctantly (really, another gadget?), now I can’t imagine my kitchen without it. I love the hands-free aspect of the Instant Pot (close the lid, walk away, then come back and the meal is cooked) and the fact that I can sauté directly in it instead of in a separate skillet, and it does an especially knockout job of cooking certain ingredients, particularly rice-based dishes like this Instant Pot Mexican Casserole. You can find a wide range of healthy Instant Pot Recipes on my site (including these scrumptious Instant Pot Stuffed Peppers), and if you haven’t made this one yet, please do give it a try. This recipe is family friendly, easy to adapt to different diets, and has the ever-loved Mexican flavor profile that never seems to grow old or lose its appeal. No matter how many different cuisines and cooking styles I try, Mexican food hits the spot every single time.

Instant Pot Mexican Casserole—An Easy, Healthy Dinner for Tonight

Instant Pot Mexican Casserole is not new territory, nor are Instant Pot casseroles in general. This Crock Pot Mexican Casserole is one of the single most popular recipes on my site, with these Instant Pot Shredded Chicken Tacos and this Instant Pot Chicken and Rice close seconds. Mexican casseroles are, however, delicious territory, so we’re going back again. After all, “No, I do not want an easy, flavorful, filling, all-in-one-meal that I can smother in avocado and cheese” was said by…. WAIT. No one has ever said that before. And if they have, they haven’t tried an Instant Pot Mexican recipe yet!

This pressure cooker Mexican casserole is the complete dinner package. It hits every food group. Veggies (colorful bell peppers, sweet corn, and fire-roasted tomatoes), whole grains (hello, brown rice), protein (beans + ground chicken or turkey; you can also make this Instant Pot Mexican Casserole with ground beef if you prefer—I recommend a lean 90%), and dairy (gooey cheese + a dollop of creamy Greek yogurt) all make an appearance.

It cooks in a single pot. Thank you Instant Pot for reducing the number of dishes I will wash in my lifetime. It combines fresh ingredients with convenient pantry staples. It is YUMMY. The textures and flavors of this Instant Pot Mexican Casserole are reminiscent of a giant Chipotle burrito bowl, without the pesky extra charge for guac.

What to Serve with Instant Pot Mexican Casserole

If you want to max out your Instant Pot, don’t miss these Instant Pot Refried Beans and these Instant Pot Black Beans. For double the appliance domination: Make these Crock Pot Pinto Beans, then do the Mexican chicken casserole in the Instant Pot.

More Mexican Chicken Recipes

If you are looking for a slow cooker version of this recipe, I’d suggest the Crock Pot Mexican Casserole I mentioned above, this Taco Casserole, or these Crock Pot Healthy Nachos. For a Mexican casserole made in the oven, try my easy Mexican Casserole. For the stovetop, check out my Mexican Chicken and Rice or Fiesta Chicken. Seeking more Instant Pot Mexican recipes? This Instant Pot Chicken Mole is a fast favorite. Still hungry? I have this entire collection of healthy Mexican recipes.

Instant Pot (other electric pressure cooker brands with similar cooking functions should work too) Two-sided measuring spoons (I love that they stay organized in your drawer too) Non-slip cutting board

 

Instant Pot Mexican Casserole - 80Instant Pot Mexican Casserole - 79Instant Pot Mexican Casserole - 93Instant Pot Mexican Casserole - 96Instant Pot Mexican Casserole - 90Instant Pot Mexican Casserole - 1Instant Pot Mexican Casserole - 10