FavoritePinShare

Homemade snickers bars are the perfect treat when you want that sweet and salty combination of chocolate, peanut and caramel flavors.  Together they make for one delicious bite.  My favorite is biting through all the different layers and getting to the smooth, creamy, and crunchy.  It is the best of all textures and flavors! If you are a huge snickers fan like me try these other snickers inspired desserts! snickers brownies, no bake snickers bar pie or snickers cheesecake bars.

Homemade Snickers Bar

Remember when I told you I hated chocolate? Yeah, I was a weird and deprived child. Snickers are what broke me of my hate for chocolate. Now I can make them at home? This spells trouble. I started eating Snickers in high school. But I would seriously peel the chocolate off and eat the caramel and nougat. That is how much I hated chocolate but loved the inside of a Snickers. By my senior year, I started to get lazy and would just eat the entire bar with the chocolate. My love for Snickers goes waaaaaay back. They have always been my #1 candybar. My favorite part of a Snickers bar is still the nougat. It is so creamy and I love the peanuts inside. Of course my second favorite part is the caramel. But, I am obsessed with caramel. These Homemade Snickers Bars taste just like the real deal. I couldn’t believe it! They are absolutely fantastic. These are another one of my favorite things from my blog that will be served on a silver platter when I die. 🙂

Snickers Bar Ingredients:

Top and Bottom Layers:

Milk chocolate chips: These will go in the top and bottom layer, so be sure to choose a high-quality chocolate. Peanut butter: It doesn’t matter what kind of peanut butter you get but choose one you love because it will be in the top bottom and nougat layer.

Nougat Center:

Butter: Use unsalted since you will also be adding salty peanuts and peanut butter. Granulated sugar: The sugar will go into the nougat layer to add sweetness to the creamy center Evaporated milk: This is a thicker and creamer version of milk. Marshmallow fluff: This stuff is so delicious I may or may not lick the spoon when I am done! Peanuts: Roughly chopped and salted. Vanilla extract: Vanilla’s job in the recipe is the same as the salt, to bring out the other flavors in the recipe.  Without it the flavors tend to taste flat and bland. Peanut Butter: Having the peanut butter in 3 of the 4 layers give this bar that nutty flavor that is so familiar to a snickers bar.

Caramel Layer

Caramels: Used in the caramel center to add a buttery sweetness. Heavy whipping cream: Gives the caramel a lighter consistency.

How to Make a Snickers Bar:

Extra Tips:

Best tools to use: These work better when you make them in a bakers quarter sheet, but you can make them in a 9×13 pan. Cut with a sharp knife sprayed with non-stick spray. I like to arrange small squares on a serving tray and keep the tray in the fridge until ready to serve. How to Store: They need to remain CHILLED. Bars need to be stored in the fridge, but will still maintain their shape even when left out for a couple hours. They do get soft though, which is why I prefer to store them in the fridge. How to melt chocolate chips: I prefer to melt chocolate chips in the microwave because it is so fast and easy. Place the chocolate chips in a microwave safe dish (I like to use a glass Pyrex measuring cup) and then microwave for about 45 seconds. Stir the chocolate chips around and then return to the microwave for about 30 seconds. Stir again. Even if the chocolate chips aren’t completely melted, just keep stirring and see if they will melt all the way. If they still aren’t melted, microwave for another 15 seconds and stir again. You just want to be careful not to microwave the chocolate chips too long because then the chocolate will seize and be unusable. You can also melt the chocolate chips over the stove in a saucepan. Just turn the heat to low and stir the chocolate chips just until melted. What type of caramel is best for baking: I prefer to buy either unwrapped caramel bits OR the caramel pieces in a bag that are specifically for baking, because the outer wrapper comes off really easily. Those small square caramels in the clear plastic wrapper are such a pain to unwrap! You can find the baking caramels on end caps, on the baking aisle or often in the produce section by the apples. Whats the best chocolate to use for making candy? Use the absolute BEST chocolate you have access to! I’ve also used Ghirardelli chocolate chips, but they’re harder to find. What type of peanut butter to use in making Snickers? Really any type of peanut butter, even the more natural varieties will work just fine in this recipe. Working with sticky ingredients:The easiest way to measure out peanut butter in a recipe is with a special measuring cup made to push the peanut butter out when you are done measuring.  This makes it so easy! No more trying to scrape it all out of a regular measuring cup! These measuring cups work so well for peanut butter, honey, shortening…I use mine all the time! If you are using a regular measuring cup, put a little bit of oil in the bottom so that the peanut butter will just slide right out when you are done measuring.

More Dessert Bars to Try:

The Best Carmelites Cookie Bar  No Bake Butterscotch Bars Homemade Twix Bars Snickerdoodle Bars Recipe Neiman Marcus Bars

  All nutritional information is based on third party calculations and is only an estimate. Each recipe and nutritional value will vary depending on the brands you use, measuring methods and portion sizes per household. Read More Posts by Alyssa facebook twitter pinterest instagram Comment * Name * Email * Website

Δ

Insanely Delicious Prime Rib Recipe

Quick 45 Minute Cinnamon Rolls

Slow Cooker Chicken and Mushroom Stroganoff

Homemade Snickers Bars - 12Homemade Snickers Bars - 90Homemade Snickers Bars - 67Homemade Snickers Bars - 63Homemade Snickers Bars - 6Homemade Snickers Bars - 46Homemade Snickers Bars - 5