Growing up, my Grammy made us the most ethereal strawberry shortcake every Fourth of July. We’d add blueberries and whipped cream for a patriotic red-white-and-blue look, then climb on top of her roof to watch fireworks light the sky all across the city. Go-getting oldest child that I am, I always claimed the biggest slice of shortcake and went back for seconds. I still make my Grammy’s shortcake recipe every year (it’s the one called for in this Peach Shortcake recipe), however now that I have several close friends with gluten intolerances, I wanted to see if I could create a gluten free strawberry shortcake recipe that my friends could enjoy too. Meet fluffy, FABULOUS gluten free shortcake success!

Flour Options for Gluten Free Strawberry Shortcake

I’ll be the first to admit that when I see a baked good labeled “gluten free,” I am skeptical. Many of the gluten free desserts I’ve tried are heavy, crumbly, and dry. Not these shortcake beauties. I’d proudly serve them to anyone, not just those who need to modify their diets with gluten free recipes. In my quest to create a gluten free strawberry shortcake that could hold its own against the classic, tender, biscuit-like shortcake I grew up with, I considered many alternatives, and read dozens of recipes. Since wheat flour was out, I knew I needed to look at gluten free flours. Two options included: While I love both of these flours (as evidenced by my collection of coconut flour recipes and almond flour recipes), I worried either would be too heavy for a shortcake. Instead, I set my sights on another wonderful, gluten-free whole grain: oats. JACKPOT!

How to Make Gluten Free Strawberry Shortcake

These melt-in-your-mouth tender shortcakes have a slightly nutty flavor thanks to the oats which pair beautifully with the strawberries and cream.

Ingredients

Gluten Free Baking Flour Blend. I also used Bob’s Red Mill’s Gluten Free 1:1 Baking Flour, which can be swapped cup-for-cup with all-purpose flour in many recipes. It’s perfect for adapting your current baking favorites to be gluten free.

Rolled Oats. I love the wholesome, nutty flavor the oats lend these shortcakes. I like to sprinkle extra oats on top prior to baking for added texture (I do the same trick with these Healthy Pumpkin Muffins).

Butter. Helps to make the shortcakes tender and flaky.Greek Yogurt and Milk. Adds moisture and fat for additional tenderness.Brown Sugar. The rich molasses flavor of the brown sugar enhances the nutty flavor of the oatmeal in these shortcakes.Strawberries. A shortcake’s natural costar. I sprinkle my berries with a bit of sugar which helps to release their natural juices prior to serving.

Grand Marnier. Totally optional, but totally delicious. I like to add a tablespoon to my strawberries while they marinate with the sugar. I’m also guilty of adding a bit to the whipped cream before serving too. Whipped Cream. An essential creamy final touch to any shortcake.

Directions

Other Favorite Strawberry Breakfasts and Desserts

Strawberry CrepesStrawberry Oatmeal BarsStrawberry Shortcake TrifleStrawberry Shortcake Waffles

Make Ahead and Storage Tips

To Store. Store leftovers at room temperature for up to 2 days.To Freeze. Freeze in an airtight, freezer-safe storage container for up to 2 months. Let thaw overnight in the refrigerator.To Make Ahead. The macerated strawberries taste even better as they sit and can be prepared 1 day in advance.

Food processor (the easiest way to make any kind of flakey, buttery dessert, from pie crust, to scones, to these gluten free shortcakes)My favorite all-purpose baking sheetsPastry brush

While oatmeal is gluten free naturally, it is important to find CERTIFIED gluten free oats, as those that are not could have been contaminated at the factory level.For true gluten free baking, I buy and recommend Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Rolled Oats. They are certified and what my friends with celiac buy. Gluten Free Strawberry Shortcake  Simple and Tender    WellPlated com - 65Gluten Free Strawberry Shortcake  Simple and Tender    WellPlated com - 35Gluten Free Strawberry Shortcake  Simple and Tender    WellPlated com - 60Gluten Free Strawberry Shortcake  Simple and Tender    WellPlated com - 74Gluten Free Strawberry Shortcake  Simple and Tender    WellPlated com - 69Gluten Free Strawberry Shortcake  Simple and Tender    WellPlated com - 60