Use this recipe for curry sauce as a base and toss in whatever veggies and proteins you want!

Cauliflower Chickpea Curry

I know most people do Meat Free Monday. It has a nice ring to it, doesn’t it? But in my world, meat free meals are towards the end of the week after I’ve depleted my supply of fresh meat from weekend grocery shopping. So for RecipeTin Eats, it’s Meat Free Wednesday, not Monday. Let me try announcing that, see if it has the same ring to it. Meat Free Wednesday is here!!! Hmmm. Nope. Doesn’t sound quite the same, does it? Oh well! Let’s blow right past that to today’s meat-free offering: This Cauliflower and Chickpea Curry. 🙂

I absolutely adore Indian food. I don’t eat Indian out as often as I want because Indian restaurant food in Australia – and I think in many Western countries – is notoriously high in fat. Delicious, but not that good for you. 😞 At least, not the popular curries – Korma, Rogan Josh etc. As for making it at home, most Indian curries require a trip to an Indian grocery store to track down harder to find spices, like black mustard seeds, fenugreek leaves. However, this Cauliflower and Chickpea Curry, along with my Butter Chicken, are two rare exceptions. I can make this pretty much anytime I want because I always have the spices in my pantry, a can of some sort of beans plus some kind of veggie suitable for throwing in. It’s a standby curry!!! I love it!

When I shared my Vegetarian Mexican Lasagna a couple of weeks ago, I undertook to post a meat free meal every fortnight for the rest of 2016. When it comes to meat-free, I think many carnivores such as myself can be skeptical, worried that the meal won’t be satisfying enough, will lack flavour and oomph. I don’t think anyone could ever think that about this Chickpea Cauliflower Curry. What do you think? 😉 – Nagi x PS Don’t skip the yoghurt and a good handful of fresh coriander / cilantro. It really “makes” this dish. ❤️

LIFE OF DOZER

Memories of when he was a puppy…..You just can’t get mad when you come home and are greeted with a sight like this…. At least he didn’t get into my SHOES!

Cauliflower and Chickpea Curry - 63Cauliflower and Chickpea Curry - 31Cauliflower and Chickpea Curry - 43Cauliflower and Chickpea Curry - 21Cauliflower and Chickpea Curry - 1Cauliflower and Chickpea Curry - 65Cauliflower and Chickpea Curry - 75