Actually, make that a double rum punch, earmuffs, and extra mango dressing on the Caribbean chicken salad, pretty please. Although it seems illogical to be telling you about this Caribbean chicken salad when my front yard is covered in snow, the inspiration for the recipe actually came from Wisconsin.

Inspiration Behind This Caribbean Chicken Salad Recipe

A few weeks ago when my friend Laura came to visit, we went to check out the Milwaukee Public Market, a large, airy building that permanently houses row upon row of food vendors and market stalls. Whether you are looking to take home lobster tails, wrap your hands around a gyro, indulge in a slice of cheesecake, or sip a margarita, the Public Market has something to satisfy your craving. After a hefty serving of blueberry coconut French toast earlier that morning, I was in the mood for something lighter (like this Avocado Grapefruit Couscous Salad), so I stopped at a custom salad stand and ordered the feature of the day, Caribbean chicken salad. It was perfect. A mixture of crisp romaine lettuce, juicy grilled chicken, black beans, sweet oranges, and red peppers, the Caribbean chicken salad I tried at the market was packed with goodies, flavorful, and filling. It was topped with a lightly spiced, citrusy mango dressing that gave the salad a tropical twist. The overall combination was so tasty and unique, I found myself craving another round of it a few days later. This recipe is my at-home recreation of the salad, and it hits the spot on any day, even a snowy one (as does this Three Bean Salad with Wild Rice).

Caribbean Salad – Quick and Easy Prep

For the Chicken. For max flavor and easy grilling, I recommend using thinly sliced chicken breast, because it quickly absorbs the Caribbean marinade—a 30-minute “bath” was all my chicken needed to soak up some serious flavor. Thinner chicken also means faster, more even grilling. Once I had the ingredients prepped, this salad came together in fewer than 10 minutes! For the Dressing. For the mango dressing, you can use fresh or frozen mango. I’m fairly addicted and have made the dressing both ways. Both are delicious, but I’m giving the edge to the frozen mango. Not only did I not have to wait for the mango to ripen (a painful process when one is craving Caribbean chicken salad rightthissecond), but also, I didn’t need to fuss with slicing it, a process that, no matter how easy it looks on YouTube, I cannot seem to master

Tools Used to Make This Recipe

Food Processor. For perfectly smooth and creamy dressing every time. Cast Iron Grill Pan. Ideal for simple indoor grilling when you don’t feel like firing up the grill—or are waiting for the snow to melt. I’ve also been using it for this Grilled Steak Salad with Roasted Rainbow Veggies.

   

Caribbean Chicken Salad  Easy and Filling Recipe     WellPlated com - 92Caribbean Chicken Salad  Easy and Filling Recipe     WellPlated com - 6Caribbean Chicken Salad  Easy and Filling Recipe     WellPlated com - 83Caribbean Chicken Salad  Easy and Filling Recipe     WellPlated com - 94Caribbean Chicken Salad  Easy and Filling Recipe     WellPlated com - 90Caribbean Chicken Salad  Easy and Filling Recipe     WellPlated com - 96