I like my mornings slow.  My perfect morning starts with hitting the gym or going for a long walk, then coming home to cook up a decent breakfast, spend time with my husband and linger over a quiet cup of tea on the couch.  And most days I do exactly that! But some days this just isn’t possible.  Some days I wake up late, miss my workout and need a breakfast that I can grab and go while I literally run out the door without a shower.  And on days like those I make these Banana Oat Smoothie. It’s a dump, blend and run recipe.  It’s ready in 2 minutes (yes I timed it).  And you can easily double, triple etc. the recipe if you have more mouths to feed!  Not to mention it’s so thick and creamy it’s just like an oatmeal shake!  I like to think of this recipe as my Banana Oatmeal in liquid form!  Breakfast smoothies with oats are a little more filling than banana smoothies and will keep you feeling satisfied until lunchtime. And the best part… I bet you already have all the ingredients for this banana oatmeal smoothie on hand! Don’t make smoothies often?  Learn how to make a Perfect Smoothie (+30 delicious smoothie recipes).

🥘 INGREDIENTS

This is probably one of the easiest smoothie recipes with just 6 everyday ingredients.    

MilkYoghurtFrozen Banana - Learn How to Freeze Bananas. Old Fashioned / Rolled OatsChia SeedsCinnamon

💭 SUBSTITUTIONS & TIPS

Don’t have something on hand?  I’ve added a bunch of suggested substitutions below: Milk:  Choose a milk you actually like.  Lately I’ve been using soy milk for all my smoothies as I find it doesn’t really change the taste of the smoothie at all. Yoghurt:  I typically use either vanilla yoghurt or a slightly sweetened plain greek yoghurt in my smoothie recipes.  If you are using an unsweetened plain greek yoghurt, you may wish to add a teaspoon or two of your favourite liquid sweetener.  You could also use coconut yoghurt or omit yoghurt entirely. Vegan / Dairy Free:  Use your favourite non-dairy milk and use coconut yoghurt, or omit yoghurt entirely. Fresh Vs Frozen:  I love using frozen fruit and vegetables in my smoothie recipes, as I find they not only help keep the smoothie cool but also help to thicken it.  I’ve added some info and tips for freezing your fruit and vegetables below, but if you only have fresh on hand this is absolutely fine to use. Chia Seeds:  These are my go-to smoothie booster / add-in as they thicken up the consistency and don’t taste like anything.  Chia seeds are rich in fibre, omega-3 fatty acids and protein, as well as rich in minerals such as calcium and magnesium.  BUT if you don’t have them just omit them completely and add a little less milk in, or substitute for your favourite smoothie booster.

🍴 INSTRUCTIONS

Are you ready for this?  Because this is really the easiest recipe. All you have to do is add the ingredients in the order they are listed above to a high performance blender, and blend until smooth.  That’s it - done! 

Can you put raw oats in a breakfast smoothie?

This recipe uses raw oats and they blend straight into the smoothie without needing to soak them beforehand.  The oats make this smoothie more hearty and help keep you fuller for longer.  

Can I make this banana oatmeal smoothie in advance?

If you’re really pressed for time you can whip this smoothie up the night before and leave in the fridge.  It will thicken overnight so you’ll need to stir in a little more milk in the morning before you drink it.  And by the time you do that, you probably could have just made it the day of 😉 I promise all you need is 2 minutes and you’ll be out the door.

🥤 MORE SMOOTHIE RECIPES TO TRY

Banana Chia SmoothieStrawberry Yogurt SmoothieMixed Fruit SmoothieThe BEST Green SmoothieKale Pineapple SmoothieSpinach Apple SmoothieStrawberry Banana Smoothie BowlOR see all Smoothie Recipes

If you’ve tried this Banana Oat Smoothie I’d love to hear how you enjoyed it! Pop a comment and a star rating below!  You can also FOLLOW ME on FACEBOOK, INSTAGRAM and PINTEREST to keep up to date with more delicious recipes.

Banana Oat Smoothie - 92Banana Oat Smoothie - 11Banana Oat Smoothie - 2Banana Oat Smoothie - 27Banana Oat Smoothie - 63Banana Oat Smoothie - 33Banana Oat Smoothie - 6Banana Oat Smoothie - 44Banana Oat Smoothie - 9Banana Oat Smoothie - 62Banana Oat Smoothie - 10Banana Oat Smoothie - 95Banana Oat Smoothie - 97